Wednesday, February 1, 2023
HomeGlobalPakistan has imposed travel restrictions on eight additional nations

Pakistan has imposed travel restrictions on eight additional nations

ISLAMABAD: The National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC) stated on Monday that eight additional nations had been added to the ‘C’ category, which bans travel from those countries due to the risk of a new coronavirus strain emerging.

Six European nations, as well as Vietnam and Zimbabwe, are among the new eight countries. Pakistan has already placed restrictions on six African nations including Hong Kong due to a new Covid-19 version known as Omicron.

Also read: The NCOC has decided to reduce city limitations based on the Covid immunisation rate

Category C presently includes the Netherlands, Hungary, Ireland, Croatia, Slovenia, Poland, Vietnam, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Hong Kong, Mozambique, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, and Botswana, according to NCOC.

This decision was taken by the NCOC in a meeting chaired by the organisation’s chief and Federal Minister for Planning and Development Asad Umar.

“Urgent travel from these countries to Pakistan will only be possible after getting a no-objection certificate from the special committee,” said the NCOC adding that all the passengers coming to Pakistan must be vaccinated.

Also read: Pakistan’s Covid positive rate has dropped to 1%

The NCOC said all  Pakistanis and foreigners above six-year-old will need to show result of the PCR test conducted within 48 hours before boarding the flight.

Earlier, the NCOC had directed the Aviation Division, airport management, and the Airport Security Force to devise a mechanism for screening passengers travelling from the category C countries via indirect flights and share its details with all the relevant departments.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments